April 1999

Well, thankfully the craziness of March left us behind in April and things basically returned to normal. In the first couple of days of April a handful of people (Chris, Al and Rebecca) were still going at a pretty high rate as they gradually decelerated from the frenzy at the end of March. But otherwise things were pretty calm. Just the normal email thing, nobody explicitly trying to win or any such thing.

There was a minor skirmish in the lower ranks when a five way conversation on some obscure philosophical issues brought Alex, Brian and Kyle up to Top Ten levels. This is Kyle's return to the list after a long absense. His last apperance was in September 1997. Alex and Brian are brand new. Welcome Alex and Brian.

Back on the top levels, Chad stopped nearly instantly after March ended, slowing to what for him is a crawl... only 118 messages for the month, dropping him to fifth place. Ron actually ramped up his pace considerably from March, but I don't think it was intentional. He sneaks in at fourth. Chris actually pretty much kept up his March pace, but his March pace wasn't that impressive, so he came in at third. Rebecca basically reverted to her normal winning pace consistantly chugging along sending a bunch of messages... but...

Al's afterburners had really been on on April 1st, he just kept going after the March contest ended. That gave him a nice little lead. Rebecca was closing the gaps a couple time during April, but Al maintained the lead that he had taken on the 1st. So this month, for the first time ever, Al wins the monthly email contest. Congratulations Al! I know you had wanted this for several months now!

Rank Total Name Address
1 373 Al Michael Albert_Michael@mgmt.purdue.edu
2 337 Rebecca Livingston Rebaroni@aol.com
3 241 Chris Morrow morrowc@his.com
4 169 Ron Adams bat13@westol.com
5 118 Chad Hunter cnh2r@virginia.edu
6 49 Iván Bou ivanbou@compuserve.com
7 36 Brian Marasca bmarasca@njaost.ml.com
8 30 Kyle Long kyle.d.long@usa.net
9 25 Alex Zauderer alex_zauderer@ml.com
10 22 Betsy Lott Betsy_Lott@3com.com

Mar May